Membership fees and categories


(a) Individual members: US$ 25/€15/ZAR300

Any African constitutional scholar, judge, lawyer, and members of civil society with research and/or teaching interest in constitutional law may be admitted as individual members of the ANCL.

(b) Associate members: US$ 30/€25/ZAR400

These are individual members who are non-nationals of an African country.

(c) Institutional membership: US$75/€48/ZAR500

This category comprises institutes and national associations of constitutional law, law or bar societies and associations, and non-governmental organisations, whose objectives are compatible with those of the ANCL.

(d) Students: $10/€8/ZAR150

This category admits only PhD students with an interest in constitutional law.

(e) Honorary membership

This membership may be bestowed on individuals who have been of service to the ANCL.

Current honorary members are:

  • Prof Cheryl Saunders, University of Melbourne
  • Justice Babacar Kante, Former Deputy President of the Constitutional Court of Senegal




By Moneygram or Western Union, email Vanja Karth at Vanja.Karth@uct.ac.za with the reference number 

By direct deposit or electronically to

African Network of Constitutional Lawyers

Standard Bank, Rondebosch

Account No: 073633798 

Branch Code: 025009

Swift Code: SBZAZAJJ

Please use your surname as the reference

NB: Proof of deposit must be forwarded immediately to Vanja Karth (email:Vanja.Karth@uct.ac.za) and  Elvis Fokala (email:efokala@gmail.com).